I just do not know.

 

 

You see, I don’t know if

I believe in God.

But I do believe in hell.

Here among these faces

my heart does begin to swell.

I don’t know who drives my life,

or who carries me when

I am filled with strife.

I do know

that we am not alone.

 

I don’t know if life is fate,

or if I will stand at those pearly gates,

or perhaps, that Satan will be my final date.

I just do not know.

 

And I don’t know who is right

and who is wrong.

I don’t know if I can believe in

one single thing,

but I do believe in the power

of the words written in hymns.

I’m not sure if I believe that God

loves all,

but I do believe that people love,

even those that fall.

 

I don’t know if life is fate,

or if I will stand at those pearly gates,

or perhaps Satan will be my final date.

I just do not know.

 

I don’t know how to trust

what I can only feel.

I am unsure whether it was God

that created,

or whether evolution should

be celebrated.

I don’t know if Eve took the apple

because Adam couldn’t,

or if actually it was the start

of a list should and shouldn’t.

 

I don’t know if life is fate,

or if I will stand at those pearly gates,

or perhaps, that Satan will be my final date.

I just do not know.

 

I don’t understand why we must

be all dressed up and look our best.

Doesn’t God see all? Hasn’t he

seen me looking smart?

and how do my clothes reflect

what lays in my heart?

I don’t understand who has

more rules, God or man.

It is here that I struggle

to truly understand.

 

And I do not know how to believe

in what I cannot see,

and yet, I do believe that

those who do, are truly set free.

 

Karen Hayward ©2015 image and words.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

