Autism, some ask if I wish it were another way!

Autism, some ask if I wish it were another way,

when this happens I sigh and wonder what to say.

Yes, yes I do wish that life were another way.

 

I wish society would open their eye’s,

and stop making my little girl cry,

just pause, and see life through her eye’s.

 

I wish that her needs really didn’t matter,

I wish for less stupid idol chatter

and more dedication to the real things that matter.

 

I wish you could see how happy she is without a coat

understand she isn’t being stubborn when she refuses, ‘nope!’

the heat, the feel, the sound, the weight all this from a coat.

 

I wish you didn’t see her size and think oh my,

5ft 6 and only 8, she almost touches the sky,

Treat her according to height, and I think oh fucking my!

 

I wish there was no need to say these things,

I wish you could hear her as she sings

and watch her as she assembles things.

 

I wish you could see a child that loves

rather than the child that can’t get enough

who constantly needs to know that she is safe and loved.

 

I wish you wouldn’t say ‘but she looks so norm…’

our entire life isn’t one big storm!

Not to mention the fact that she actually is the norm.

 

Yes, I wish things were another way,

I wish everyone knew the right things to say,

and mostly I wish, that there was no other way.

 

Karen Hayward © 2015.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

