I believe in God, I’m going to heaven.

This poem is a reflection on people that I have experienced in life. The ticket to heaven gang.

I believe in God.
I believe in God and he has my back.
Look at those delinquents hanging by the shops.
I’m going to heaven.
Here have some soup,
I didn’t make it,
I’m here to look good.
It’s my ticket into heaven.
You deserve your life.
Don’t feed the homeless.
Do not give them money.
They are druggies.
Alcoholics.
They deserve their life.
I’m going to heaven,
here have some soup,
I didn’t make it,
I’m just here for the show.
And did you hear about….awful family, dirty and lazy,
I have no time for them.
I need to suit up.
I’m going to church,
I’m going to heaven.
Move out my way,
no I have no time for you, there’s no one here to see my kindness.
I’m going to heaven.
I believe In God and he has my back.
I believe in God and I’ll tell everyone who listens.
I believe in God and will shout about his words from above the needy in my pristine clothes and my allotted time slot.
I believe in God and speak his word,
hear my judgements,
hear my despise,
I see the world through his eyes.
I sing his hymns,
I say his prayers.
I believe in God, and when people are looking, when people can see,
I work tirelessly for he.

Karen Hayward ©2016.

7 thoughts on “I believe in God, I’m going to heaven.

  1. You are unfortunately correct. As a biblical scholar, my understanding is that one who does not have compassion on the poor, will not find the doors of heaven open for them. For me, I appreciate the irony (intentional or not) in this piece.

    1. Thank you WispofSmoke, unfortunately this is my experience of religion. People acting the way they believe God wants them too, to ensure they get into heaven. They don’t act out of compassion, just fear. Of course the irony is that God see’s inside the heart.

      1. In my experience they act out of some misplaced sense of privileged. Its detrimental to all involved, though they don’t realize it.

Leave a Reply

