Once upon the path of fate.

Once upon another life
I walked across the sharpened knife,
screamed as loud as loud can be,
for I was always, always free.
Once upon a life gone by
I never cared if I could fly,
with feathered wings and
thoughts of sin
I danced with what the shadows bring.
Once upon days gone by
I ruled the empty skies at night.
I was not and yet I was
the autumn sun the morning Frost.
Once upon the days of past,
I thought those days would always last.
But then I questioned all I knew,
and slowly I believed in you.
Once upon a day right here,
I am her and I am me.
My tattered wings still can fly
but now I look toward the sky.

Karen Hayward ©2016

2 thoughts on “Once upon the path of fate.

Leave a Reply

