If I were a petal…

image

If I were a petal floating on the breeze,
would you wander after me through forbidden streets.
If I were a shell mislaid on the beach,
would you hear my ebbing heart, or think me out of reach.
If I were a poem, letters on a page,
would you see my soul and what it has to say.
If I were a thought, come wandering from the past,
would you see my beauty or only see the mask.
If I were the sun would you feel my warmth,
or only think about the on coming storm.
If I were the moon and I shone just for you,
would you know in your heart that my light was true.
If I were the seed bursting into life,
would you give me water and be my sunlight.
If I were a petal flying on the breeze,
would you close your eyes and fly along with me.

Karen Hayward ©2016 words and image.

2 thoughts on “If I were a petal…

Leave a Reply

