Blind faith in the poor.

img_20160306_074738.jpg

 

I saw a man today picking litter of the floor,

a dog at his side I guessed they were poor.

He never said a word just got on with the job

never seen such a quiet and beautiful dog.

They say think of others and not just of you, so

I prayed he’d go unnoticed beneath a cloak of blue.

I watched him move his stuff to form a perfect pile

it took a few minutes, the dog waited all the while.

I watched the cars go by and people walk the street,

everyone too busy to even stop and greet.

He never paused to look around he busied with his hands

He stooped a little, walked in pain, yet tall, as if he

owned the land.

I watched this man rummage through the bins

they tell me feel no pity, for his cause are his sins.

‘He probably is an alchy, a druggie there’s no doubt.’

About this man in honesty they know absolutely nout.

‘He brought it on himself, addiction is a choice.’

Your self righteous words founded in fear spilling in your voice.

So I prayed you wouldn’t see him, blinded to your eyes,

for i’ll never change your thoughts no matter how hard I try.

I watched him fill his bag and feed that little dog,

I whispered to the skies, thank you, God.

They wandered on their way, slowly up the road

bin bag filled to the top with all he could hold.

 

Karen Hayward ©2016 (image and words)

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Blind faith in the poor.

  1. Karen, this is beautiful! My heart (bleeding as it were) gives what it can to those in need. It’s so easy to judge, no one cares nor takes the time to know the stories behind the rags. Many are mentally ill, more are VETS! It breaks my heart to hear such callousness from the voices, kind of you to pray they would not see. I ask them the homeless names as I give them food. The least amount of humanity, to know their names, yet they deserve so much more! So thank you for writing this.
    ❤️❤️❤️ Tiffany

  2. This is a video I thought of while I read and replied to your post. If you don’t like the music, you can mute it…there are statistics during the video

    I’ve been wanting to do a post about this, your post might hasten this…

  3. Thank you Tiffany. The video is great, music too. Our statistics here in the UK do differ but the problem remains the same. Although in my opinion far more research needs to be conducted into why so many vets are becoming homeless before we will be able to find a solution for them, but I suspect lack of mental health support will be up near the top. Here where I live (a smallish town) our homeless is actually very few, my aunt does the local soup run and she said at last count there were only four people sleeping on the rough…..the rest sofa surfing, and so avoiding the statistics, which gives an inaccurate account of the actual problem. We do however have an increasing problem with beggars, some of them seemingly make themselves quite a bi of money each day, which suggests to me, either they’re approaching it as a job or their addiction is extremely high, but either way that money they get from begging means they aren’t out robbing someone, and that food they steal from the bins means they aren’t in a shop stealing a shopkeepers stuff. The ‘don’t give them money.’ concept seems a little blinded to me, as does the ‘don’t buy them food they use the soup run’ concept, cos a roll and a little soup is really going to fill you up!! I agree about the names, we shouldn’t turn away from them just because their life is different from our own, they are still human just like us 🙂 lol sorry about the ramble 🙂

    1. Jonathan, you are too kind, thank you for the reblog. I can still recall this man, this day as though it were yesterday one of those moments I think that will stay with me.

Leave a Reply

