God popped round tea today.

I had God over for a drink tonight.
We sat enjoying the evening light.
We sipped slowly on hot sweet tea,
and he spoke a little about me.
I offered him a biscuit but he kindly did decline,
So I gobbled down the pack myself and hoped he wouldn’t mind.
He didn’t look like the books all say,
and he spoke in an entirely different way.
His accent, Scottish, Irish and a little more
and when he talked he paced the floor.
I didn’t ask the reasons why we live beneath a blue sky,
or why we tick and tock along
or what is right and what is wrong.
We talked of spring and blooming weeds,
of daffodils and sunflower seeds.
He plumped some cushions and took a seat
told me he was feeling beat.
Busy, busy till the day of rest
Wednesdays he said, I do detest,
But Tuesday, said this short haired man
Was really not Thursdays fan
and alas, Wednesday made the final plans.
His cell phone (green, just saying) beeped and beeped,
I asked him does it ever sleep?
Never, God said to me
I am always forever free.
He pulled a ragged deck of cards from out his denim pocket,
out fell too some aging hair locked up tight in a locket.
A card for me a card for him,
He said, show me now the way you win.
I blushed a little and filled with heat,
for God knows at games I cheat.
He smiled as he read my thoughts,
and said, my darling girl, it is I that controls what you are taught.
So we played the game
with no shame
and he did lose
this is true.
I yawned a little as stars blinked by
and God stared lovingly into the sky.
Look here, he said whilst pointing out
I looked upon the dying night,for constellations I know nout.
This is my window he said to me,
all of you are what I see.
When tea was drunk
and biscuits dunked
I walked him to the door
he took me by the hands and said, it’s okay to not be sure.
I looked a moment into Golden eyes,
then bid God a brief goodbye.

Karen Hayward ©2016.

4 thoughts on “God popped round tea today.

    1. Thanks Mr Zigzag, this was fun to write I’m not entirely on board with religion but it kinda intrigues me what God would make of me if he popped over for a cuppa…cos obviously God drinks tea 🙂

      1. All heavenly beings drink tea! It’s the underpinning element of any sane thought process….hmmm second thoughts, looking at the world today he may have had the odd espresso….

Leave a Reply

