How can I sleep when the night skies are alight with beauty.

How can I sleep when the night skies are alight with beauty? When the dying stars whisper to me in my dreams, how can I sleep when  darkness calls my name with promises of untold secrets .

How can I not sleep when you fill my other world, when in my dreams we are outside the confines and the iron bars are gone. How can I not sleep when inside my dreams you are everything and nothing you are the echo of touch as our lips touch, you are the moments caught inside my jar.

Oh, how can I sleep when dark skies wrap themselves around me caressing my soul, when the emptiness holds me in his arms and tells me perfect folk stories of solitude. How can I sleep when reality is so incredibly picture perfect through the crystal lens.

How can I not sleep when escapism filters through my mind, how can I sleep when the stars above are beautiful reminders of hope. Oh, tell me universe, how can I not sleep when my dreams are the very concept oh hope.

Karen Hayward ©2016

Leave a Reply

