Hypnotised heart.

If I wanted to I could tear you down from your pedestal rip out your heart and inprint upon your soul. I could creep through the darkest corners of your mind and hypnotise your heart so that it beats to the sound of my voice. If I wanted to I could own the seconds in your day and the minutes of your sleep. If I wanted to. If I wanted I could crawl beneath your skin and mimic the sound of your beating heart. I could impose upon your sight my reflection and in every wonder you see, you will think of me. If I wanted I could make you pulse upon my name, keep you in a constant state of arousal. I could make the world become a blur an off shot in the corner of your eye. I could make music dance in the air around you and lyrics be your only nutritional need. I could teach you how to survive on words alone. If I wanted to. If I wanted to I could make your soul whisper my name as a lullaby to your heart. Perhaps one day I will.

Karen Hayward ©2016

Leave a Reply

