What it is to be the muse.

I’ve been reading up on the ‘Muse’ what they are, their purpose and the relationship between artist and muse. I suspect there will be plenty more muse inspired poetry to come, but for today this poem is partly inspired by, Pablo Picasso and two of his muses, Dora Maar and Maria-Therese Walters.

Dear Future Muse,

I will momentarily stop time at the very moment we meet so that I can drink in the fine details of your face, the way your fringe falls across your eye and the taste of your soul against my skin.

I will worship the very air you breathe and lock it away in jars with red gingham caps.

I will encapture your soul and place it upon the page decorated with the gentle musk of your hair and the blue oceans of your eyes.

I will transform your spirit into rhyme and it will skip across the page humming to the morning birds.

I will explore your body with vigour, tasting the curves, becoming the pleasure that tingles your skin. You will be my art.

I will use your soul to paint your blank canvas in vivid colours of love, desire will sit on your lips in the same way of a promised hint of a kiss.

You will be etched on my every thought.

You will be engraved in my shadows.

Together we will explore what it is to be human pushing the boundaries of touch.

My every art will be you.

I will love you as no other can.

Then I will move on as my eye is caught in the radiant sun, the dark moon, the salty ocean. Then my heart will move on and I will create new art.

Karen Hayward ©2016.

6 thoughts on “What it is to be the muse.

  1. 🙂 that is isn’t it….I don’t think I ever want to be a person’s muse, I think I would always be aware that the day will come when another soul will catch their eye. On the other hand I absolutely love the idea of having a muse lol

Leave a Reply

