Butterfly wings.

Run your brush across my skin,
leave behind butterfly wings. Paint me Red so I can be the evening wish and morning storm.
Leave one wing whole and one wing torn.
Use the darkest red you can find to paint my heart,
the lightest for my spirit, to set them apart.
Let the flames of my hair fall across my eyes,
paint them just so, to reflect that I am shy.
Draw flames vining across my toes,
In crimson red so I’ll always know
the devil once held me against the flow.
Admire now your creation
the art of life creates elation.
The finishing touches a sparkle of glitter across my skin,
and crystals formed of butterfly wings.

Karen Hayward 2016.

Leave a Reply

