Summers end.

SS850250 (2)I close over the drawer to my socks hopeful that it will remain closed

until summers end and autumns welcome.

I pull out from the bottom of my wardrobe my lime green shorts

that reveal too much

and I only wear about the house.

I place my vest tops in a pile

and recall with a heavy heart

that my favorite red one

has seen better days.

Perhaps, if I am lucky,

it has just one more summer left in it.

As I feel the softness against my lips

and breathe in its scent,

I hope it does, for I love the way the strap

slips from my shoulder.

Clothes never do sit on me just so.

My shoulders are always pleading for freedom

like my bare feet as I close the drawer to my socks,

hopeful it will remain closed till summers end.

Karen Hayward ©2016

 

Leave a Reply

