Dark skies.

389562_242663725788903_641595923_n

Sat beneath the dark skies I stare

deep inside her heart. She whispers

she will listen, for the sky is really

not so far. I do not make a sound

but listen for the owl, often all I hear

is the past as she growls.

I’ve placed a wish on every star, they’ve

soothed my breaking heart.

I’ve whispered violent silent secrets

on the tail of a dying star.

I’ve seen the soulless echo of darkness

in the night, watched as all the angels

gathered up and took flight. I’ve seen the

devil walking with flames about his feet,

I’ve heard the empty pounding of his

curdled heart beat. I sit beneath the skies

stare deep inside her heart,

and realize for a moment,  the emptiness

ain’t so dark.

Karen Hayward ©2016

Image does not belong to me it can be found on pinterest.

 

 

Leave a Reply

