Poetry with a beating heart.

May I watch you sleep?
Watch your heart beat?
May I watch your eyes flitter as you dream?

May I run my fingers across your skin,
and internalise it’s texture,
may I memorise your heat?

Can I run my fingers through your hair,
and wrap a strand around my mind,
and colourize it’s every hue?

Can I kiss your tender lips,
a peck so very quick,
that I’ll feel forevermore?

Can I touch the contour of your hip,
map the shape of your legs,
plot the structure of your torso?

May I count the beats in your breath,
record the melody in your sighs,
May I hear the song of your dreams?

May I watch you as you sleep?
Watch your heart beat?
May I watch your eyes flitter as you dream?

For you see I am the poet…and you are poetry with a beating heart.

Karen Hayward ©2016

Leave a Reply

