God gave to me the setting sun.

img_20160413_194303.jpg

  • This poem was inspired by a sunset picture shared with me on google by a good friend,  the original inspirational picture was delightful as well as savoring an extremely precious moment, for the purpose of this post I have used my own sunset picture…but it isn’t nearly as beautiful as the one that inspired e 🙂

Is it wrong to believe that God sets the sun each night, for me? Is it wrong to believe that he disperses a multitude of loving colours through the skies, for me too see. Is it wrong for me to believe this? When darkness has reigned upon me, when the universe has felt too big, that setting sun has always been my guide. The day ends, all things end and yet, the sun, he never truly sets he simply bids farewell with the promise of rising again the following day. And he does. No matter how thick the cloud, or how ferocious the storm, he is there climbing to the heavens only to fall again as the moon whispers his name. Leaving behind him the pink skies of love, the orange skies of passion, the yellow skies of friendship, the purple hues of preciousness as God’s angels begin their night time shift of protecting the innocent. I wonder, is it wrong I believe God sets the sun each night, for me, for you, for whoever in that fleeting moment is in need? Is it wrong of me to think that?

Karen Hayward ©2016.

Leave a Reply

