I saw you. 

*inspiration, an elderly gentleman that lives further up my road, he early is in pain and clearly struggles. Over he years I’ve seen him treated badly in my local shop, and every time I see him I try to greet him, but he ducks away, looks away, hides away. 
Old man, for a moment at the door you permitted me a glimpse upon your soul. A sacred moment you could not defy. So much pain I saw in those eyes. For now I have reason to continue my fight. Old man, I see the shame as you shuffle the street, too proud now for eyes too meet. But I did not look away and you did not look away, I gave to you the only thing I have of value, my kindness as I stepped ahead of you and pulled open that door, for you. And looking directly at you, into the eyes of an old man that was once a young man, I simply smiled. I want only that you know that I see you. 
Karen Hayward ©2016

8 thoughts on “I saw you. 

  1. Karen, you have outdone yourself with this one. I love how the poetry flows through what looks like prose. And I believe the best moments and stories are made of what is around us, one just needs to see carefully!
    This post has heart…and it connected with me so deeply. Thank you for the wonderful read 🙂

    1. Thank you kindly Aishwarya, sometimes I think he prose poetic effect acts like a stream of thoughts. I like it 😀. Thank you so very much for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

