Scarecrow why do you guard my heart so? 

Scarecrow?

Why do you guard 

my heart so? 

For now I am 

made of tin,

Look…tap, tap, tap

A ringa tin tin. 

Scarecrow, 

Why do you guard 

my heart so? 

The lion wants to know. 

For if I can 

find heart,

He can find 

courage, 

Scarecrow, 

Why do you guard

My heart so? 
Tinman?

Why do you 

abandoned me? 

For chemicals 

that interact,

based upon no

single fact? 

Tinman, 

why do you 

abandoned me?

The lion is 

not free,

He’s a slave 

To you not me, 

Tinman 

Why do you 

abandon me?
Scarecrow, 

Never will I 

abandon you,

But I’m made 

of tin and turning blue. 

Scarecrow, 

Never will I 

abandon you. 

Tis a fool that loves 

tis true. 

But scarecrow 

never will I 

abandon you. 
Oh Tinman, 

What am I to do?  

I am afraid,

tis true. 

Oh Tinman, 

What am I to do,

I cannot let 

another,

Hurt my precious you,

Oh Tinman,

What am I to do? 
Scarecrow, 

Guard not my beating 

heart,

It was his from 

the start, 

Let us work 

together, 

together we’ll go far. 

Scarecrow, 

guard not my beating 

heart. 
Tinman, 

This battle is 

all but lost,

I can calculate 

the cost, 

Tinman, 

but hardly I can 

see you now, 

without that 

Freezing frost. 

Tinmen, 

This battle 

I have lost. 
Karen Hayward ©2016

4 thoughts on “Scarecrow why do you guard my heart so? 

    1. It was a repsonse to a picture prompt the picture was a scarecrow holing an out of order sign, it made me think of the wizard of oz and the whole heart and brain and love argument….its just an inspired poem is all. Mostly lol

Leave a Reply

