It must be autumn 

It must be autumn, I’ve spent much of my day sleeping in search of the elusive hibernation and hidden within my dreams I found you, I thought you were a forgotten void my sleeping mind refused to travel back to, but I was wrong. Your warmth cocooned me, your presence enriched me, your desire owned me, I found you there I my dreams. It must be autumn I am cold, my skin prickles with goosebumps the cat snuggles closer, for longer, eager to stay, eager to share his heat with me, his kisses with me, his soft gentle purr. It must be autumn soup is on my mind and I am subconsciously writing a list so I can make some, it must be autumn the evenings have drawn in and darkness calls to me earlier, like a long lost friend. And oh how I have missed the darkness. It must be autumn the skies are grey and rains fall and fall, dying leaves spi across the pavement death is everywhere. Death is coming. 
Karen Hayward ©2016

Leave a Reply

