Four o’clock in the morning 

Its four am just gone and the moon hangs heavy in my skies she tired mind is drifting she beds to close her eyes. Silence should surround me but you’re watching the TV. Mummy, can I wake now is what you said to me. I pulled your body closer felt the beating of your heart.” Mornings nearly here now mum, it’s really not so far.” And so we are awake as the world still slumbers deep,  snuggled in the couch with blankie and a pillow watching as you wake now children’s TV. 
Karen Hayward ©2016

Leave a Reply

