Will you pause among wings of butterflies to search the heavens with me?

SS850250 (2)

If I pause to look,

to see,

to feel,

to photograph

to capture

that single moment,

will you pause with me?

Will you stand aside

as I explore the contours

of age that rots the

foundations

of histories finest,

or will you walk beside me?

Will I step alone into the

dark overgrowth of

natures way

or will I have only my shadow

to whisper

you’re okay.

If delight illuminates

my eyes and sheer pleasure

sits upon my smile

will you see it, for what it is?

Or will it be a burden

to your day.

If I’ve mud upon my shoes,

leaves within my curls

grass upon my knees,

and blood upon my skin,

will you see I am free?

And if I need to trail back

to cross bridges, jump rocks

or simply to dawdle beneath the

afternoon sun, will you reach out

your hand and walk beside me?

If I pause to feel the cold

splash of water against

my leg as I jump

carelessly into puddles, will

you watch from the kerb and

scrowl, or will you smile?

If I trespass to explore,

if my mind constantly

wants more, if I pause and

pause again and declare

unconditional love to

the sun, the moon, the

skies and all his illuminations.

Will you see?

Will you love this part of me?

Will you see?

Will you walk along at

my side,

not behind,

not ahead,

not scowling.

Smiling. Will I see your

soul smiling?

Karen Hayward ©2016

2 thoughts on “Will you pause among wings of butterflies to search the heavens with me?

Leave a Reply

