I contemplate…

img_20161212_091835.jpg

I contemplate a lifetime’s vocabulary,

the word-stock of my existence, I hunger

for the fruits of my expression.

In my mind I browse the sub folders of

reality, Shakespeares sonnets, tales

of love and tragedy.  Dickens victorian view

of love, I regard Miss Havisham

and her devotedness and broken heart.

Monetarily I ponder Estella, I pity her.

I glance through Marlowe, Byron,

Coleridge, Tennyson, Blake, Wordsworth

but alas even they have not written of

this love I have for you. I search the

lyrics of my souls melodies and listen

as the beats create chaos in my spirit.

Still I can not find the perfect way

to describe, that your love is my day.

Perhaps I’ll search a lifetime

to find the perfect way,

at least by then you’ll know,

my love was made to stay.

Karen Hayward ©2016

 

 

Leave a Reply

