…And when you slept I wandered the empty alleys…

peterpangosh

When she slept,

lime scented gas

filling her lungs,

I wandered the

corridors. White

wash walls. Faces,

faces…

Always someone.

When she slept,

Late Into the night,

Lights out…Silence.

So much silence.

I wandered the empty

corridors. Alone.

So very alone.

I saw  silence,

I heard empty spaces,

I felt sweet British tea,

I tasted….

Love and pain,

Hope and fear

Relief and confusion.

I bid good evening

To the security guard

A big man who wore

His soul in his smile.

I wandered out into

Dark streets and

Darker alleys

Where tears fell

With the ease of

Breathing.
And I breathed

And I breathed

And I breathed.
A lost alley,

Seeped in darkness

At the foot of medicines

Glory,  I ponder for

A moment, Wendy’s

Window and peters

Story.
Did Barrie know?

Where do the souls

Of young and lost go?

Peter’s statue stands

Proud at the doors…

I wandered up

And down the empty

Floors.
Karen Hayward ©2017

For those that do not know, J.M.Barrie gave the rights of PeterPan to Great Ormand Street Hospital  (GOSH), many many many years ago. There is a statue of Peter at the front entrance, guarding the children. ♥

Leave a Reply

