What is, what will, what haunts our breath. 

As we slept, your arms entwined in mine my hand gently sat upon your young skin, a part of me despised what grows within. The unseen expansion of pain that tears trough your existence, through my existence, for my every breath is yours. The verge of new days tainted in the screams of your hate…Will you grow to hate me with every test? Every prod, every needle, every tablet forced onto your young, tongue? A day will come when I will lean against that wall with the unsteady eyes of experience, I will know every crack in the ceiling, every word in the tattered leaflets, every echo of foot steps along that haunting hallway. And my days will become a display of constant, they will pray, but we both know God doesn’t always hear the words we say. 

KH©2017 . 

3 thoughts on “What is, what will, what haunts our breath. 

Leave a Reply

