When ignorance is bliss and the vault is empty. 

I have a vault within my mind with iron bolts and skeleton keys. I place it there; the fear, the words, the knowledge and ignorance, because ignorance is bliss. I tuck away the tumour coated in its beniegn promises and carefully wrap lesions in cotton wool…For there lays the problem., They do and they can…And what happens if they do. I take the accelerated growth and the doctors fear and tuck in in side pocket.Then i close the lid and turn the key and forget, try to forget, i pretend, I pull you in close and pretend that my babies body is without these horrors. Then, someone wants something, phone calls, plans,…I have to open the vault and i don’t want to. Ignorance sure is bliss. 
Karen Hayward © 2017

One thought on “When ignorance is bliss and the vault is empty. 

Leave a Reply

